OTB Quiz Night

Join Quizmaster Richard Bevan at the RYCT for the OTB Fundraising Quiz Night.   $20 for Adults $10 for Children (under 15)   Finger food provided.   Get a brains trust together for a fun night of trivia.   Register ONLINE: https://www.revolutionise.com.au/ryct/events/3... More

Bruny Island Race again proves a real challenge

Tasmania’s oldest long yacht race, the Bruny Island Race, is never without its challenges and this weekend’s 93rd event run by the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania proved no exception to the rule. Throughout Saturday and overnight the crews of the 19 boats (three retired) at various times experienced windless, very ... More

Best fleet in years for Bruny Island Race

The Bruny Island Race, Tasmania’s oldest inshore/offshore yacht race, first held in 1898, starts tomorrow morning with a fleet of 19 boats, the largest and arguably the best line-up for years. The fleet includes Tasmania’s line and handicap winning yachts from the recent Melbourne to Hobart Westcoaster (Oskana and ... More

Cadet Dinghy/Sharpie Reunion

Come along to the RYCT and catch up with old sailing mates to share stories of fun past times in Cadets and Sharpies. Friday 8th February 2019 from 7 pm $30.00 pp Bookings Essential: (03) 6223 4599 More

Heatwave enjoys hot day on Derwent

Bellerive Yacht Club member Matthew Keal and his crew obviously enjoyed Hobart’s hot weather on Saturday, scoring a double handicap win with the aptly named Heatwave in the Combined Club’s Summer Pennant race. Heatwave, a Mumm 36 design, sailed well above her rating to take out the Division 1 IRC category by almost ... More

Elderly Natelle Two’s PHS, IRC double

Launched back in 1975, Glenn Roper’s elderly yacht Natelle Two today showed she still has a spring in her bow wave, winning both the PHS and the IRC categories of Division 1 in the Combined Clubs Summer Pennant race. Designed by the US naval architect, the late Doug Petersen, to the old IOR Two Tonner rule, Natelle ... More

Tasman Peninsula Cruise

Enjoy a  relaxed 9-day counter-clockwise circumnavigation of the Tasman Peninsula. Early plans include visits to Nubeena, Port Arthur and Fortescue Bay, then home via the Denison Canal and Norfolk Bay. There will be time to spend a few days at anchor to relax or explore ashore, to enjoy some cruise BBQs (BYO table, ... More

More space needed for Nick’s Dragon trophies

The trophies won Nick Rogers and the Karabos IX crew at the International Dragon class Prince Phillip Cup and World Championship regatta in Fremantle are so big they are being crated and freighted to his club, the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania. “They were just too big for us to bring home to Hobart, towing Karabos IX, ... More

Spectacular summer for young Tasmanian sailors

The River Derwent has seen more than 400 small sailboats racing almost each day since the start of the New Year, and it hasn’t ended yet. A further 160-plus off-the-beach boats this weekend are contesting the prestigious Australian Sailing Youth Championship in seven different off-the-beach international youth ... More

Sydney Hobart – Tasmanians know the race track

Tasmanian boats in the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race have a bit of an advantage over their NSW rivals – their boats have to be prepared before they leave for Sydney – and then their crews get to test the boats and crew out on the delivery to Sydney – a reverse Sydney Hobart. Greg ‘Enzo’ Prescott is one of three ... More