30+ entries already for Sydney Hobart

  • June 9, 2020

The Notice of Race and Entry Form for the Rolex 76th Sydney Hobart Yacht Race was published just a week ago – and already more than 30 yachts have been nominated as starters in the 2020 edition of the blue water classic.

They include yachts from New South Wales, Victoria, Western Australia and one from France. No Tasmanian boats have yet been entered but indications are that Phil Turner’s Alive, the 2018 overall winner, will be a starter. (UPDATE : Alive is now entered.)

The Cruising Yacht Club of Australia received the first entries for the 628 nautical mile race within hours of the Notice of Race and Entry Form being published on the Club website.

Heading the 31 entries logged in up to today, 4 June, is last year’s Overall Winner of the Tattersalls Cup, Matt Allen’s Ichi Ban. As is his custom, Allen has entered two Ichi Ban’s, one a Carkeek 60, the other his Botin 52.

Other past line and handicap winners entered so far are Quest, Kialoa II and the now 70-year-old Solveig IV, which took line honours in 1953 and won on handicap the following year.

Solveig gave the Halvorsen brothers their first Sydney Hobart victory as designers, builders and owner/skippers.

Her line honours status in 1953 came at the expense of the Tasmanian yacht Wild Wave which finished first in fleet ahead of Solveig IV, but was disqualified following protests by two other yachts, Josephine and Nimbus, the outcome of a starting line collision.

Solveig IV’s skipper, Trygve Halvorsen, recalled later that it was “a very hard thing to receive the line honours trophy in such circumstances, especially from a yachtsman of the calibre of Jock Muir.”

Solveig, a 36-foot timber boat, won the 1954 Sydney Hobart on corrected time, but neither of Halvorsens were aboard, both being ill at the time. Their navigator took over as skipper.

Solveig IV was followed as Sydney Hobart winners for the Halvorsens by Anitra V in 1957 and three times by Freya from 1963.

In 1955 Solveig IV was sold and rehomed in Honolulu, Hawaii but was returned to Sydney in 2017. The famous Halvorsen 36 is now owned by Anne Lawrence, a member of RANSA and an experienced ocean racing navigator.

Most of the 31 entries so far received for the Rolex 76th Sydney Hobart Race are from New South Wales and Victoria but there is one international, Caro, a Botin 52 from France.


Words: Peter Campbell
Photos: ‘The Mercury’, Rolex
4 June 2020


Words: Peter Campbell
Photos: ‘The Mercury’, Rolex
4 June 2020