RSHYR now part of Australian Yachting Championships

  • September 5, 2019

Tasmania will host the Australian Yachting Championships for the first time in early January 2020, with the Rolex 75th Sydney Hobart Yacht Race now included as part of the championships, also for the first time.
Notice of Race for the prestigious national championship for IRC-rated yachts was released yesterday, with the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania hosting the event from 3-5 January in Hobart, immediately following the finish of the Sydney Hobart.
Recognising the importance of passage racing in the Australian Yachting Championships, the regatta will use the score of the 628 nautical mile Rolex Sydney Hobart as first race of the series, although for AYC Division 1 yachts only. Those boats will then be able to change their configuration consistent with the IRC certificate under which they enter the AY.

However, championship racing will be available in Hobart for IRC rated boats across Division 1,2 and 3 with further racing on the waters of the River Derwent, Storm Bay and D’Entrecasteaux Channel.
Australian Sailing is encouraging all of the yachts who have completed the Rolex Sydney Hobart to remain in Hobart and compete in the championships, which will now include a balance of windward/leeward and truly challenging passage racing. Entries for the Sydney Hobart currently stand at 125, with a world-class fleet of up to 150 bluewater racing yachts expected to start on Boxing Day, 26 December.
Hobart itself has an extremely strong and vibrant IRC racing fleet and many local yachts are expected to contest the 2020 Australian Yachting Championships, including defending IRC Division 3 defending champion Philosopher, Shaun Tiedemann’s Sydney 36cr.

Other Tasmanian yachts in the Sydney Hobart this year include Filepro and Philosopher

Philosopher is also one of 12 Tasmanian yachts entered in the Rolex Sydney Hobart.
Some of the biggest and best offshore yachts are among past winners of Division 1 of the championships, including Hooligan, Shogun V, Beau Gest and reigning back-to-back champion Ichi Ban, which is already entered in this year’s Sydney Hobart Race.
The first entry for the AYC 2019 was lodged today: the Victorian yacht Carrera S, a Marten 49, which is also contesting the Rolex Sydney Hobart.

Words: CYCA/Peter Campbell
Photos: Andrea Francolini
5 August 2019