Eleven Tasmanian yachts in 75th Sydney Hobart

  • July 27, 2019

Eleven Tasmanian yachts have now been entered for this year’s 75th Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race, the biggest contingent from the State since the 50th edition of the bluewater classic in 1995.
The Cruising Yacht Club of Australia announced this week it had already received more than 100 entries.
Expectations are for a fleet of close to 150 Australian and international yachts lining up on Sydney Harbour for the 75th start on Boxing Day, 26 December.
Tasmanian entries received this past week have been Shaun Tiedemann’s Philosopher, David Aplin and Joanna Breen’s Runaway and Ed Psaltis’ Midnight Rambler.
Since being bought by Tiedemann, Philosopher, a modified Sydney 36CR, has won the Maria Island, Bruny Island and Launceston to Hobart ocean races and the Combined Clubs IRC championships in southern Tasmania.
Tiedemann and his young crew have also sailed Philosopher to an IRC division win at the Australian Yachting Championships on Melbourne’s Port Phillip.

David Aplin and Jo Breen have recently bought Team Runaway, a Sayer 11, specifically for two-handed ocean racing, but will contest the 75th Sydney Hobart as a fully-crewed entry.
They are looking forward to 2020 when the CYCA has announced it will accept two-handed entries for the big race.
Ed Psaltis has re-located to southern Tasmania this year and, in his first local series, sailed Midnight Rambler, a Sydney 36, to victory in the Derwent Sailing Squadron’s Autumn Short-Handed Series.
The veteran of 37 Sydney Hobarts, Psaltis won the storm-swept 1998 Sydney Hobart in his smaller Hick designed boat, also named Midnight Rambler.

Midnight Rambler will be sailing as a Tasmanian entrant.

Other Tasmanian yachts so far entered are Oskana, Mike Pritchard’s Cookson 50; Black Sheep, Matthew Pilkington’s Beneteau First 45; 2Unlimited, Greg Prescott’s Farr 40mod; Filepro, Tim Gadsby’s Lyons 40; Magic Miles, Michael Crew’s Dynamique 62; Natelle Two, Laura Roper’s Peterson 41; Van Diemen III, Robert Vaughan’s Muir 64; Windrose, Ashok Mani’s S&S48.

Words: Peter Campbell
Photos: Peter Watson
28 July 2019