Summer keelboat racing boost for Derwent

  • August 19, 2018

Keelboat racing on the River Derwent, especially under IRC ratings, is to be boosted this coming summer in preparation for the Australian Yachting Championships in Hobart in January 2020.
The prestigious national event will follow next year’s 75th Sydney Hobart Yacht Race and other offshore races finishing in Hobart, and is expected to attract a significant fleet, including a large local IRC fleet.
The Combined Clubs working group has just announced that a four-race day Combined Clubs Inshore Series using IRC style courses, and a weekend-long Tasmanian Yachting Championship, will be included in the sailing program for the summer season of 2018-19.
The traditional Combined Clubs Opening Day of the Yachting Season 2018-19 will be held on Saturday, 6 October and hosted by the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania.
Hobart yacht owners will be encouraged and given incentives to have their yachts IRC rated, with the objective of more than doubling the number of boats currently holding an IRC certificate.

Philosopherr and Tas Paints on he Derwent.

Details of the Combined Clubs 2018-19 Sailing programme have been communicated to yacht owners at the three major clubs, the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania, Derwent Sailing Squadron and Bellerive Yacht Club and to members from other clubs who have competed in previous Combined Club events.
The full communication can be downloaded from the Derwent Sailing Squadron web site.
The Combined Clubs Summer Pennant will be a nine-race series, comprising five Saturday afternoon races in the river and four long day races.
Races will be scheduled approximately every second Saturday, with the first race of the season scheduled for 13 October.
The Combined Clubs Inshore Series replaces the Short Course Championships and will consist of four days of racing with a target of three to four races each day.
Courses will follow the format used for the Australian Yachting Championships with IRC style courses, a mix of ‘all points of sail’ to include river passage races, triangular and windward/leeward courses.
The Combined Clubs Inshore Series race days will be 20 October 2018, 8 December 2018, 2 March 2019 and 23 March 2019.

Combined Clubs start for Division 1 last summer

“The Combined Clubs believes short course racing is an important fixture in the calendar, particularly in the lead-up to the Australian Yachting Championships in January 2020,” yacht owners were told by the working group, chaired by Derwent Sailing Squadron Commodore Steve Chau.
The inaugural Tasmanian Yachting Championship (IRC and PHS divisions), will be conducted by the DSS over the weekend of 8-9 December 2018.
This regatta, to be conducted under the auspices of Australian Sailing, will determine the Tasmanian Keelboat IRC and PHS champions across divisions.
For the 2018-19 season, the Combined Clubs have successfully negotiated a 50% discount off new IRC certification registrations for the season.
The Combined Clubs Offshore Trophy Perpetual Trophy will be award-based on the combined score from the Piper Opener Night Race, the BYC Overnight Race, the Maria Island Race and the Bruny Island Race.

Combined prizegiving for 2017-18 season

The Derwent Sailing Squadron/Huon Yacht Club 50th Pipe Opener will be held over the weekend of 21-23 September.
Pennants for the season will be awarded as follows:
• Group winners will be awarded a Combined Clubs Pennant for the Combined Clubs Summer Pennant Series.
• Scores for the Combined Clubs Inshore Series will be combined with the Combined Clubs Summer Pennant river races to determine the Combined Clubs inshore pennant. This pennant will be awarded based on IRC only and Twill require interested participants to lodge a specific entry for this pennant.
• Each club will determine which races from the Combined Clubs calendar will form their individual Club Pennant.

Doctor Who at the Iron Pot.

The communication to keelboat owners also includes an agreed final Combined Clubs programme with race days allocated around the traditional regattas and races held each summer on the Derwent and offshore.
The pennant race has been removed from the Royal Hobart Regatta public holiday which now leaves all long weekends free of Combined Clubs racing.
Words: Peter Campbell
Photos: Peter Watson/Peter Campbell\
19 August 2018