Filepro’s tribute to past skipper

  • October 9, 2017

Zephyr had a good Channel Race, taking line honours in Division 2 and first in AMS

Former Sydney Hobart winning yacht Filepro and her crew yesterday payed a fine tribute to past skipper Darren Clarke, killed in a car rally accident earlier this year.

Filepro took line honours and won Division 1 of the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania’s Channel Race, the traditional opening long race of the  sailing season.

Clarke had skippered the yacht since he and other members of a Bellerive Yacht Club syndicate bought Filepro, which as Cuckoos Nest won the IMS division of the 1993 Sydney Hobart.

Previously, Clarke had been noted for the success he and his father Harold had had with their yacht Invincible.

Filepro was skippered in yesterday’s 30 nautical mile race down the Channel to Bligh Point and return by Tim Gadsby, outsailing Huon Yacht Club entry Rad, Brent McKay’s fast Radford 39 in Division 1.

Oskana had spinnaker problems at the start, later retiring with a torn mainsails.

On PHS corrected time, Filepro won from Rad, third place going to Planet X (Mike Rowley) with Filepro also winning under IRC scoring from Whistler (David Aplin) and Madness (Janine Frawley and Gavin Adamson).

Planet X won the AMS category from Whistler and Rad.

Line honours favourite Oskana, Michael Pritchard’s Cookson 50 had a luckless race, starting with a twisted spinnaker and later forced to retire with a torn mainsail.

Words and Photos Peter Campbell

8 October 2017