RYCT Prize Night: Awards to Matt Bugg, Janene Frawley

  • May 13, 2017

Janene Frawley, Commodore Matthew Johnston and Erica Larke-Ewing

Matt Bugg and Janene Frawley were honoured with prestigious awards last night at the Royal Yacht of Tasmania Prize Night for their sailing performances over the past 12 months.

Matt Bugg, silver medallist in the International 2.4mR class at the Rio Paralympics, was awarded the Governor’s Cup, the RYCT’s most significant trophy.  Janene received the John Hyslop Memorial Trophy for the Outstanding Female Sailor of the Year, the first time this award has been made.

RYCT Past Commodores chose the Governor’s Cup winner, for Outstanding Yachting Achievement, from a list by the Sailing Committee.  The other finalist nominees were Michael Cooper (fine performances in SB20 worlds, national and state championships) and Peter and Catherine (excellent long race performances with Tilt).  Over the past 12 months Matt Bugg has also won gold medals in the International 2.4R class at the 2016 Sailing World Cup at the Hyeres, France and at 2016 Garda Trentina Olympic in Italy.  This past summer he won his seventh successive Australian 2.4mR class championship.

The John Hyslop Memorial Trophy has been donated in memory of the past owner of Whistler, to reward the most outstanding sailing performances by a female member of the RYCT.  Winner Janene Frawley is a highly regarded crew of the prominent racing yachts, Tilt and Intrigue.

In addition to season Pennants, offshore racing and cruising events, special perpetual trophies were presented to the  following Club members:

Past Commodores’ Trophy for Services to Yachting: Mike Gluskie for his tireless contribution to off-the-beach sailing, race management for match racing and keelboat racing.

Lesley Cooper Memorial for outstanding services to the RYCT: Murray Chambers, a veteran member of 42 years, former  Board member 2012-2015, current member Finance Committee, former Chair of the Dinghy Group and other committees.

Commodore’s Trophy for Most Outstanding Youthful Participants:  Brendan Crisp and Daniel Maree, Australian champions in Flying 11 class.

Daniel Maree, Commodore Matthew Johnston and Brendan Crisp

Keith Jenkins Memorial Trophy for best performance in a division or class:  Kindred Spirit (Peter Alcock).

Jeffrey Corkhill Memorial Trophy for best performance by a forward hand in RYCT races:  Ben Ward.

Martin Graney Memorial Trophy for outstanding main sheet hand: Nick Dineen.

Scott Graves Memorial Trophy for best performance by a crew member in keelboats: John Choroszy.

EJ (Jock) Muir Memorial Memorial Trophy for Seamanship:  David Graney, crew member of Da Nang Vietnam in Clipper Round the World Race.

David Graney and Stephen McCullum

Words:  Peter Campbell

Photos: Penny Conacher

13 May 2017