RYCT Perpetual Trophies presented

  • May 11, 2019

The Governor’s Cup for ‘Outstanding Yachting Achievement’ is one of the most prestigious perpetual trophies awarded each year by the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania.
At last evening’s trophy presentation dinner at the Club, the 2019 winner was named as Phillip Turner, owner of Alive, the first Tasmanian boat in 39 years to win the Tattersalls Cup for overall winner of the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race.  The Club’s Past Commodores chose Turner from a final list of four nominees, described by current Commodore Tracy Matthews as “illustrating what a great year of sailing and success they have achieved.  In the Rolex Sydney Hobart Race, Alive won the Tattersalls Cup as overall winner, the Rushcutters Trophy for Division O IRC, the RORC Trophy for first overall in IRC, the Charleston Trophy for first in ORCi Division 1 and the Westward Trophy for first Tasmanian boat in the Sydney Hobart.

The other finalists for the Governor’s Cup were:
David Chapman, whose achievements including tactician on the Sayonara Cup winner and major regatta wins in New Zealand, at Hamilton Island Race Week, Geelong’s Festival of Sails and the SB20 Nationals; Nick Rogers, winner of the Masters and Corinthian divisions at the International Dragon World Championships, winner of the Tasmanian Dragon championship and the SB20 Summer Pennant; Elliott Noye, first Corinthian and second overall in the European SB20 championships, second in the Portuguese Nationals.

The Commodore also announced Ross de Little as the winner of the Lesley Cooper Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Service to the Club, commenting: “The winner embodies the spirit of volunteering upon which the Club is built. Without volunteers supporting each and every activity the RYCT could not provide the services to members and visiting sailors that it does.” Other nominees were Bill Bourn and Ian Ross.

Other significant perpetual trophies presented last evening were:
Commodore’s Trophy for Most Outstanding Youthful Participant: Nick Smart for an outstanding year in the Laser Radial class at National and World Championships. Other finalists were Will Sargent, Dan Maree and Lewis Noye.

Nick Smart and Commodore Tracy Matthews

  • John Hyslop Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Female Sailor of the Year: Sam Bailey. Other finalists were Janene Frawley and Catherine Cretan.
  • Past Commodores’ Trophy for Services to Yachting: Wayne Banks-Smith. Other nominees were Ian Ross and Bill Bourn.
  • Keith Jenkins Memorial Trophy for Best Performance in a Division or Class: Doctor Who (Roger Jackman)
  • Jeffrey Corkhill Memorial Trophy for Best Performance by a Forward Hand in RYCT races: Simon Burrows.
  • Martin Graney Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Main Sheet Hand: Paul McCartney. Other nominee: Sam Tiedemann.
  • Scott Graves Memorial Trophy for Best Performance by a Crewmember in keelboats: Phil Armstrong. Other nominees were Mark Jeffrey and Sam Tiedemann.

Pennants were awarded for the RYCT Summer, Winter Pennants and Twilight series, the Maria Island and Bruny Island offshore races and the Navigation and Seamanship Cruise.
In addition, trophies were presented to winners of the Club’s long races, including Maria Island and Bruny Island, and the recently conducted James Boag Navigation and Seamanship Cruise.
Although the main focus during the summer sailing season has been on the Combined Clubs events, the Club still considers that Summer Pennants remain an important part of our traditions.
Commodore Matthews presented RYCT Summer Pennants, sponsored by Boat Sales Tasmania, to the following division winners:

  • Division 1 WD Whitehouse Tropy: Doctor Who (Roger Jackman);
  • Division 1 AMS: Intrigue (Don Calvert); Division 1 IRC: Doctor Who (Roger Jackman).
  • Division 2 PHS: Southern Swordfish (Ian Stewart); Division 2 AMS: Southern Swordfish (Ian Stewart); Division 2 IRC: Rumbeat (Justin Barr).
  • Division 3 Manhattan Trophy: Footloose (Stewart Geeves); Division 3 AMS: Young Lion (Steve Chau); Division 3 IRC: Young Lion (Steve Chau).
  • Division 4 Sir John Evens Memorial Trophy: Astrolabe (Peter Bosworth).

SB20 and Dragon class classes: Karabos (Nick Rogers). Sailing Karabos IX, Rogers also won the John Sward Memorial Trophy, awarded for the International Dragon State Championship.

In offshore racing the Britannia Trophy for the best performance in offshore races went to Philosopher (Shaun Tiedemann) which won IRC and AMS divisions of both the Maria Island and Bruny Island Races last summer.

RYCT Director Ross Mannering and Sean Tiedemann

The Peter Johnston Ship Chandlers Trophy for Opening Day 2018 Beauty Prize was shared by Golden Haze (John Bourke) and Gretel II (Michael Maxwell).

Words: Peter Campbell
Photos: Penny Conacher
11 May 2019